‘TRUE WEST’ by Sam Shepard (Closed 8/18)

Our Shoes Are Red/The Performance Lab presents  American classic TRUE WEST by Sam Shepard, running July 24 – August 18.

Tickets are only $15, $10 for students and seniors. Cash or check at the door

*Click here for free Reservations*

Reviews

http://www.wweek.com/portland/article-20961-true_west_(our_shoes_are_red_the_performance_lab).html

http://www.oregonlive.com/performance/index.ssf/2013/07/true_west_review_the_comfort_a.html

http://www.portlandmercury.com/portland/the-vanishing-west-hits-home/Content?oid=10118005

Matt DiBiasio and Lorraine Bahr.

I wanted to write a play about double nature, one that wouldn’t be symbolic or metaphorical or any of that stuff. I just wanted to give a taste of what it feels like to be two-sided. It’s a real thing, double nature. I think we’re split in a much more devastating way than psychology can ever reveal. It’s not so cute. Not some little thing we can get over. It’s something we’ve got to live with.”
- Sam Shepard on TRUE WEST

ABOUT THE PLAY

Through a mess of beer cans and busted typewriters, two brothers – one a screenwriter, the other a distraction – attempt to pen the next great Hollywood Western. Shepard’s rambunctious story of sibling rivalry, Hollywood’s siren song, and the battle between art and business is played out as both brothers wrestle for top dog status. Pulitzer Prize, Obie-winning playwright Sam Shepard’s mythic intelligence and renegade wit cuts loose in this funny, searing play.

EVENT DETAILS

Lincoln Performance Hall, Studio Theatre
1620 SW Park Avenue Portland, OR 97201

All shows at 8:00 PM

Wednesday, July 24 – Preview
Thursday, July 25 – Preview
Friday, July 26 – Opening Night
Saturday, July 27
Sunday, July 28

Thursday, August 1
Friday, August 2
Saturday, August 3
Sunday, August 4

Thursday, August 8
Friday, August 9
Saturday, August 10
Sunday, August 11

Thursday, August 15
Friday, August 16
Saturday, August 17
Sunday, August 18

Tickets: $15.00, students and seniors $10.00
Cash or check at the door only!

Reservations for True West

Please note that while there is no cost to make a reservation online, tickets are $15/$10, cash or check only at the door.

Cast:

Matt DiBiasio (Lee)
Ken Baldino (Austin)
Dennis Kelly (Saul Kimmer)
Lorraine Bahr (Mom)

Artistic team:

Frances Marsh & Jamie Tait (scenic design)
Peter West (lighting design)
Darcy Sharpe (costume design)
Sharath Patel (sound design)
Devon Allen (direction)